You are here

MNE inducts 35 in national leadership society

Scott McAuley addresses new leadership society members.

The Mercyhurst North East chapter of The National Society of Leadership and Success recently inducted 35 new members, bringing its total to 183. Members complete a leadership program involving an orientation, leadership training day, speaker broadcasts, success networking meetings and an induction ceremony where they receive their certificates of leadership training.

Students are James Barron, John Beard, Kendra Bentley, Teah Bines, Brennon Birch, Megan Borgesen, Kaylee Brooks, Blair Colley, Alysa Dehaven, Melinda Egli, Aaron Ehrgott, Ryan Ertsgaard, Brittany Fenstermacher, Karlee Foti, Jessica Graham, Joseph Grober, Devon Johnson, Linsey Kahle, Tia Mastascusa, Tonia May, Karen Mazzocco, Andrew Mayer, Megan Minihane, Nierra Mitchell, Ariel Packer, Mason Schnell, Anja Theiss, George Toldy, Ian Wagner, Garrett Wasielewski, Kevin Wesolowski, Elizabeth Whitcomb, Michael Whitcomb, Morgan York and Cortnee Yost.

Students are selected for membership based on attaining a cumulative GPA of above 3.0 for two consecutive academic terms or by nomination from a faculty or staff member who believes the student demonstrates strong leadership skills. Membership is for life and provides access to benefits including scholarships and awards, exclusive on-campus events, employer recruitment through an online job bank, discounts on computers, textbooks, grad school prep courses, insurance and more.

“We’re very proud of our members. The society has had a significant impact on our campus, inspiring our students to become better leaders and helping them build a better future for themselves, the campus and their respective communities,” said Michelle Simpson, MNE director of student life.

Several members of the MNE faculty and staff were also recognized this year for their contribution to the growth of student leaders on campus. Kristen Smith and Christina Sagurney were honored with the Excellence in Service to Students Award, Steve Kanicki and Leslie Reed received the Honorary Membership Award and Kari Dundore-Shrout and Scott McAuley were recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award.